voyager new album from FLUX

Info & booking: info@jazzformidling.dk Tel. +45 28761921 Web: www.fluxmusic.dk

The music on Voyager is a snapshot of FLUX's progression over the last couple of years, after many concerts and tours that have shaped the sound and aesthetic expression of the band. This process has made an impact on the way I compose, hence the music on this album is an open invitation for the listener to travel through various soundscapes and form their own images and associations.

-Thomas Albæk Jakobsen, 2015

FLUX bio

Since the release of the critically acclaimed debut album Relationships (2013) and a subsequent year of concerts, it was evident that FLUX had to start recording a new album. New compositions had come along the way and the internationally renowned pianist Soren Moller had taken over the piano duties.

Bandleader Thomas explains:

"The music on Relationships (2013) was about my relations til people, places and experiences over the years. On Voyager it is different. The result is a moment in time. A snapshot. One option amongst several. We recorded the tracks as long processes, the idea being to offer the listener a musical journey through the composed and the improvised, the spoken and the unspoken."

The process has helped develop and strengthen FLUX's unique sound, and it is something they have worked on with this new album called Voyager. A title that is heavily inspired by the short transitional improvisations which connects the music and turn it into a coherent story and experience - both live and on the album.

About FLUX

FLUX originated in the northern part of Denmark, but its members are widely scattered



due to working on both national and international projects. Some members of FLUX had already started this musical collaboration whilst in the Jazz Nord Ensemble back in 2008.

Thomas A. Jakobsen who is the founder of FLUX, has a masters degree in music and music history and he has in recent years established himself as a drummer, composer and founding member of a number of exciting projects, including Meutiviti and the JazzNord Ensemble with whom he made the acclaimed album Canopus featuring stellar reed player Dick Oatts.

Longer bio available at fluxmusic.dk/bio

Album artwork available at fluxmusic.dk/press



Ole Visby - tenor sax, clarinet & bass clarinet
Michael Møller Porsborg - guitar
Søren Møller - piano & rhodes
Kenneth Dahl Knudsen - bass
Thomas Albæk Jakobsen - drums, percussion & electronic effects